Equality and Diversity Panel

The Panel covers University staff and students and embraces all protected groups. It is chaired by the Chief Diversity Officer. The Panel meets termly and reports to Joint EDI, People, and Education Committees. 
The governance of the Equality and Diversity Panel is currently being reviewed and the Terms of Reference updated. 

E&D Panel membership list as of September 2023
Professor Tim Soutphommasane Chief Diversity Officer Chair
Vernal Scott Head of Equality and Diversity Ex officio / Secretary
Jennifer Chapin Gender Equality Advisor

Ex officio

Marilyn Verghis Race Equality Advisor Ex officio
Prof Joseph Conlon


Ex officio
Prof Simon Park Associate Professor in Medieval and Renaissance Portuguese, Tutorial Fellow at St Anne's College Academic representing Humanities
Machilu van Bever Donker

Equality and Diversity Officer

Admin representing Humanities
Prof Nandini Gooptu

Professor of South Asian Studies at Oxford Department of International Development (ODID) and Fellow at St Antony's College

Academic representing Social Sciences
Catherine Goodwin Planning and Equality Manager Admin representing Social Sciences
Prof Karla Miller Professor of Biomedical Engineering,  Associate Director at Wellcome Centre for Integrative Neuroimaging and Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow Academic representing Medical Sciences
Katherine Corr Athena Swan Advisor and Facilitator Admin representing Medical Sciences
Prof Matt Jarvis Professor of Astrophysics at Department of Physics and Fellow at St Cross College Academic representing MPLS
Daisy Hung

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager

Admin representing MPLS
Abigail Hipkin Staff Development Manager, Ashmolean Museum and Bodleian Libraries Representing GLAM

David Isaac CBE

Provost of Worcester College Chair of College E&D Forum
Mike Froggatt   Representative of Senior Tutors Committee

Kennedy Aliu

Oxford SU Vice-President (Liberation and Equality)

Representing Oxford SU
Markos Koumaditis Director of Human Resources Ex officio
Gillian Hamnett Deputy Academic Registrar Ex officio
Rebekah Lee   Co-chair of BME Staff Network
Aprajita Verma   Co-chair of BME Staff Network
Sarah Laseke   Chair of LGBT+ Advisory Group
Dr Catherine Walter   Chair of Disability Advisory Group
Dr Suriyah Bi Lecturer in Cultural Geography Researcher Representative
Prof Bass Hassan   Co-opted member