About us

The Equality and Diversity Unit supports the University’s commitment to fostering an inclusive culture which promotes equality, values diversity and maintains a working, learning and social environment in which the rights and dignity of all its staff and students are respected.

We have a team of advisors covering each area of equality and diversity, in relation to both staff and students – except provision for disabled students. This is the responsibility of the Disability Advisory Service.

We also support the University’s Harassment Advisory Service and Harassment Advisors’ Network.

Our work is overseen by the Equality and Diversity Panel, which reports to the Education and Personnel Committees of Council

The Disability Advisory Group and  LGBT+ Advisory Group are formal groups, with staff and student representation from across the collegiate University, that advise both us and the Panel. See the right-hand menu for links to the Advisory Groups. 

The work of these groups is in turn supported by networks. Visit our networks web page for more information. 

The Equality and Diversity Team

Sophie Bury

Equality Administrator

Email: sophie.bury@admin.ox.ac.uk

Jennifer Chapin

Joint Interim Head of Equality and Diversity 

Gender Equality and Athena Swan Policy Adviser

Email: jennifer.chapin@admin.ox.ac.uk

Devika

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Officer

Email: devika.devika@admin.ox.ac.uk

Sylwia Kieran

Harassment Prevention Coordinator

Email: sylwia.kieran@admin.ox.ac.uk

Iona Shaw

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Communications, Learning and Engagement Coordinator

Email: iona.shaw@admin.ox.ac.uk

Sara Smith

Policy Advisor

Email: sara.smith@admin.ox.ac.uk

Sarah Stephenson-Hunter

Joint Interim Head of Equality and Diversity

Staff Disability Advisor

Email: sarah.stephenson-hunter@admin.ox.ac.uk