About us

The Equality and Diversity Unit supports the University’s commitment to fostering an inclusive culture which promotes equality, values diversity and maintains a working, learning and social environment in which the rights and dignity of all its staff and students are respected.

We have a team of advisors covering each area of equality and diversity, in relation to both staff and students – except provision for disabled students. This is the responsibility of the Disability Advisory Service.

We also support the University’s Harassment Advisory Service and Harassment Advisors’ Network.

Our work is overseen by the Equality and Diversity Panel, which reports to the Education and Personnel Committees of Council

The Disability Advisory Group, BME Staff Advisory Group, and LGBT+ Advisory Group are formal groups, with staff and student representation from across the collegiate University, that advise both us and the Panel. See the right-hand menu for links to the Advisory Groups. 

The work of these groups is in turn supported by networks. Visit our networks web page for more information. 

The Equality and Diversity Unit 

Haleigh Bellamy

Equality Administrator

Email: haleigh.bellamy@admin.ox.ac.uk

Jennifer Chapin

 Policy Advisor (Gender Equality and Athena Swan)

Email: jennifer.chapin@admin.ox.ac.uk

Laura Epton

Harassment Prevention Advisor

Email: laura.epton@admin.ox.ac.uk

Aitch Farley

Harassment Prevention Coordinator

Email: aitch.farley@admin.ox.ac.uk

Laura Jones

Policy Advisor (Engagement and Insight)

Email: laura.jones@admin.ox.ac.uk

Joanna Kemp

EDI Programme Manager

Email: joanna.kemp@admin.ox.ac.uk

Sandy Patel

Policy Advisor (Student Equalities)

Email: sandhya.patel@admin.ox.ac.uk


Vernal Scott

Head of Equality and Diversity

Email: vernal.scott@admin.ox.ac.uk

Iona Shaw

EDI Communications, Learning and Engagement Coordinator

Email: iona.shaw@admin.ox.ac.uk

Sarah Stephenson-Hunter

Staff Disability Advisor

Email: sarah.stephenson-hunter@admin.ox.ac.uk